About Us

At COURIER, we empower individuals and communities through local reporting that helps people understand and affect the issues impacting their lives. We examine national stories through a local lens, and elevate local news that’s relevant to a broader audience.

We believe that by investing in the work of local journalists across the country we can positively impact civic participation and build a healthier democracy from the ground up. Through original reporting and human-focused storytelling, we highlight the issues and forces that shape our lives while calling attention to the impacts of policy-making and political action at the local level.

Whether we’re following the ripple effect of decisions in Washington on families and communities across the country or underscoring the innovations and ideas emerging at the state, city, and county level, COURIER amplifies the voices and stories of those building a nation that works for all of us—and we hold accountable those who threaten it.

Staff

Lindsay Schrupp, Editor in Chief | @lindsayschrupp

Regina Mahone, Deputy Editor | @byreginamahone

Carrie Adams, Chief of Staff | @carrie_on_

COURIER

Kyle Valenta, Managing Editor | @kylevalenta

Kimberly Lawson, Senior Editor | @kimlawson22

Meghan McCarthy, Editor | @meghanmccarthy_

Sarah Amy Harvard, Editor | @amyharvard_

Elle Meyers, Congressional Reporter |@_ellemeyers

Keya Vakil, Reporter | @keyavakil

Tori Smith, Copy Editor | @toriminsun

UpNorthNews

Pat Kreitlow, Managing Editor | @patkreitlow

Jessica VanEgeren, Associate Editor | @jvanegeren

Julian Emerson, Reporter | @julianemersonec

Christina Lieffring, Reporter | @StinaDale

Jonathon Sadowski, Reporter-Shooter | @sadowskijourno

The Copper Courier

Camaron Stevenson, Managing Editor | @thisiscamaron

Jessica Swarner, Reporter | @jessica_swarner

The ‘Gander

Jessica Strachan, Managing Editor | @jstrachannews

Katelyn Kivel, Reporter | @katelynkivel

Ellen Chamberlain, Content Producer | @esaidshesaid

The Dogwood

Brian Carlton, Managing Editor |@briancarltonva

Amie Knowles, Reporter | @AmieAtDogwood

Arianna Coghill, Content Producer | @coghillarianna

Cardinal & Pine

Billy Ball, Managing Editor | @billy_k_ball

Sarah Ovaska, Associate Editor | @saraovaska

Michael McElroy, Reporter | @gmichaelmcelroy

Max Millington, Content Producer | @mxwzy

The Keystone

Christina Kristofic, Managing Editor | @CKristofic

Patrick Abdalla, Associate Editor | @PaddyAbs

The Americano

Cristy Marrero, Editor in Chief | @mcristymarrero

Victoria Leandra, Managing Editor | @leandrareports

Giselle Balido, Florida Reporter | @gisellecbalido

Mivette Vega, Puerto Rico Reporter | @mivett1

Araceli Cruz, Content Producer | @chelipj

Desireé Tapia, Graphic Designer | @des_tapia

Social & Video

Colin Jones, Growth Director | @colinjones

Josh Belzman, Social Content Analyst | @joshedits

Tanita Gaither, Digital Campaign Manager | @tanitadotweb

Erica Landau, Senior Social Content Editor

Darcie Wilder, Social Content Editor | @333333333433333

Brandon Gates, Social Content Editor | @thebgates

Sheba Anyanwu, Newsletter Editor

Malcolm Barnes, Shortform Video Editor

Shaun Sindelman, Shortform Video Editor | @shaunsindelman

Evan Lockhart, Motion Graphics Designer

Denzel Boyd, Graphic Designer | @____dboyd

About Courier Newsroom

COURIER is owned and operated by Courier Newsroom, a progressive media company owned by the non-profit ACRONYM and other private investors. Courier Newsroom and its affiliated sites are independent from ACRONYM. The Managing Editor of each site, in addition to Courier Newsroom’s Editor-in-Chief, has ultimate discretion and control over content published.

Facts and first-hand sources are our north star, and we work to expose misinformation in all its forms. We believe the key to a strong democracy is an informed electorate and that the decline of local news around the country has negatively impacted civic engagement. We are investing in local journalism and storytelling that is thoughtful, informative, and relevant.

Current Courier Newsroom Properties

Job Openings

All current postings listed here.

Last updated – Sept 16, 2020.